My Career so Far: Part 2

When I first applied to work for Break the Game, they were impressed that I already had industry experience. This shows just how easy it is to get your foot in the door in this industry. There are so many places looking for young, fresh talent, and having that on your resume immediately makes you desirable. After getting hired, I wanted to be involved in everything. I wanted to write. I wanted to edit. I wanted to get involved with marketing and social media. I wanted it all. So I did. I put out a few articles, edited a ton more and participated in social media discussions whenever I could. It was a ton of fun, and I was showing management just how seriously I was taking my job, even if I was brand new.

After a few short months, there was an opening as the League of Legends Content Coordinator. I decided to apply, and was selected to share the position with my new colleague, Grant “Maleok” Johnson, who had also previously worked with Dignitas, albeit longer than I did. We were chosen mostly because of our experience, as the owner thought we could use that to better run the League content. Together we were in charge of approving and reviewing all of the articles about League. Aside from getting articles approved and reviewed, we were also there to help them with anything they needed from research to motivation. This is my first coordinating position for a publication, and I absolutely love it.

After a couple months of being the Content Coordinator for LoL, the owner of BTG decided to create more management positions, as it was becoming increasingly difficult to run the site by himself. I became the Content Manager for Break the Game in December of 2016, while also continuing my role as the League of Legends Content Coordinator. Maleok is now the General Manager for the written content team. My job now is to oversee the Content Coordinators for CS:GO, LoL, Hearthstone, Overwatch and Dota 2. For the most part, they are self sufficient, but I am always there to help if they need it. I have also started actively advertising the site more through my own social media and looked to hire new writers.

So overall, I write, edit, approve, review and publish articles; supervise coordinators and writers; advertise to new readers, writers and other content creators; and help drive the site in an upwards direction as we grow into what we all hope to become: successful.

If you haven’t read it yet, make sure to check out the first installment of this series. And make sure to read the next installment about the non-journalism eSports work I do to round myself out as an eSports expert!

Leave a Reply

