My Career so Far: Part 1

Towards the end of the Spring semester of my Freshman year of university, I realized I was quite unhappy with where my life was. Being a music major made me hate music, so it was time for a change. I had previously aspired to compose music for video games, but I realized I just wanted to be a part of the industry in any way possible. I always had a passion for writing, so I figured I would give it a shot. I did not know where to start, so I looked to Reddit.

I saw an advertisement on Reddit for Team Dignitas, an organization I was familiar with through League of Legends. The team was looking for new content creators. I was a little apprehensive when I read that I would not be paid, as I knew a lot of time and effort would go into my work, but I gave it a chance. All I had to do to get the job was submit a short writing sample and explain that I am fluent in English and am somewhat competent at the games I wanted to cover. It seemed too easy. Too good to be true. But I knew the company was legitimate, so I applied and made it through. This was my entry to the scene. Even if this job didn’t make me money, it was something to put on my resume and get my foot in the door.

After that, I wrote an article or two every week about League of Legends or Hearthstone. It was a lot of fun, and it definitely seemed like something I wanted to do more. It was, however, a big time sink, as I spent many hours on each article. I did a lot of analytical work on topics like patches changes champion win percentages and figuring out why certain trends occurred, so there was a lot of research. I even did a psychology of ranked series where I learned a lot about psychology and brought it to the video game world. Needless to say, I wanted to find somewhere to get rewarded for my work aside from small credits to the Dignitas Merchandise store.

Over the summer, I visited an eSports job finding website. I saw breakthegame.net was looking for writers. I looked into it and saw that it was a paid job, which was a big pull factor. It seemed to be a new company just getting off the ground, and I knew I wanted in as soon as possible. Check out my next installment of this series for more about how amazing my experience at Break the Game has been.

Leave a Reply

